V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University

Karazin Kharkiv National University

V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University is one of the oldest universities in Eastern Europe. It was founded in November 1804, on the initiative of the prominent educator V.N. Karazin and in accordance with the charter of Tsar Alexander I.

So the opening ceremony was held on January 29, 1805. The University made an important contribution to the Ukrainian national renaissance of the XIX-XXth centuries. Because it gave a powerful impetus to the emergence of Kharkiv as a major scientific and cultural center and an academic hub of Ukraine. And today the University justly rates among the best Ukrainian classical universities and it is well known in many countries. Thus it has become one of the leading research universities of Ukraine and is well-known for its scientific results abroad.

The history of Kharkiv National University is part and parcel of the intellectual, cultural and spiritual history of Ukraine. The names of many world famous researchers, scholars and educators are associated with Kharkiv University, among them are P. Hulak-Artemovskyi, O. Lyapunov, M. Kostomarov, M. Barabashov, M. Beketov, D. Bahaliy, A. Krasnov, M. Ostrohradskyi, V. Steklov, O. Potebnya, O. Pohorelov and many others.

Furthermore Kharkiv University is the only university in Ukraine that has trained and employed three Nobel Prize laureates: the biologist I. Mechnikov, the economist S. Kuznets, and the physicist L. Landau.

The University comprises the following departments:

  •  Department of Biology
  • Department of Geology and Geography

  • Department of Foreign Languages

  • Department of History

  • Department of Medicine

  • Department of International Economic Relations and Tourist Industry

  • Department of Mathematics and Mechanical Engineering

  • Department of Professional Re-Training

  • Department of Psychology

  • Department of Radio Physics

  • Department of Sociology

  • Department of Physics

  • Department of Philosophy

  • Department of Philology

  • Department of Chemistry

  • The International Students Education Centre

  • Department of Ecology

  • Department of Economics

  • Department of Law

  • Institute of High Technology (a university subdivision)

  •  Department of Physics and Technology

  • Department of Computer Science

  • Department of Physics and Energy

Scientific Research Institutions:

  •  Astronomical Observatory

  • Biological Station

  • Botanical Garden

  • Museum of Kharkiv University History

  • Museum of Nature

  • Museum of Archaeology and Ethnography of Slobodska Ukraine

  • Scientific Research Institute of Biology

  • Scientific Research Institute of Laser Biology

  • Scientific Research Institute of Chemistry

  • Radio-physical Observatory

  • Radiation Dynamics Group

  • Thin Film Laboratory

  • Young Scientists’ Council

  • Central Scientific Library of Kharkiv National University (one of the biggest libraries of Ukraine)

Kharkiv University started training international students in 1948. Since then the School for International Students Training has graduated about 5,000 students from Europe, Asia, and America. In 1961 one of the first preparatory schools for international students was created in Ukraine. Since then, over 12,000 international students have had language training at the University.

The Center offers bachelor’s, master’s, candidate’s, and doctor’s degrees programs. Qualification licenses can be obtained through full-time and part-time (correspondence) modes of training. Some Schools introduce the education of foreign students in English.

The Center prepares students for further study at Kharkiv University or any other university in Ukraine or the CIS. Training at the Center is conducted in Ukrainian or Russian depending on the student’s choice.

Moreover university offeres intensive courses of Ukrainian or Russian, as well as training programs of various length. Over 700 instructors and researchers from various countries have taken re-training courses at the Center.